Posts

Showing posts from October, 2016

Top Ten Creepy Books on my TBR

Image
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish
This Week's Theme:
Halloween Freebie! I chose Top Ten Creepy Books on my TBR I don't read a lot of creepy books, but I do get in the mood for a good psychological thriller every now and then! Here's my current list. 
I'd LOVE recommendations if you have any! I like creepy psychological ones, not blood/guts/horror.

This is what  I have so far....help! Give my recommendations, please!! :)

It's Monday, What Are You Reading?

Image
This is a weekly meme hosted by Kathryn @ The Book Date.
Just Finished: Currently Reading:


Up Next:

Just got a notice it was my turn on the hold list for The Magnolia Story! So excited!
What are you reading this week?

Dewey's Readathon is this weekend!

Image
I know I'm a little late to the sign up party, but I just signed up for the Dewey's 24 hour Readathon on October 22!  I'm not as dedicated as others and stay up all night reading or anything (kudos to you that do! You are amazing!) but my goal is to make extra time for reading and promote to other why reading is awesome!!
Here's my TBR for the readathon:
I want to finish it before the movie comes out on the 28th--hubby wants to see it :)
 I participate in a Book Bingo with some of my coworkers. One of the categories for this round is to read a book from the Goodreads list "Social Justice: Books on Racism, Sexism, and Class" and I picked this one!
Anyone else participating in the readathon? What's on your TBR?

It's Monday, What Are You Reading?

Image
This is a weekly meme hosted by Kathryn @ The Book Date.
Just Finished:  Read my review here
Currently Reading: A great Halloween book! Up Next: (Hubby wants to see the movie, I want to read the book first!) What are you reading this week? Happy Reading!

TLC Book Tours Spotlight: The Girl Who Fought Napoleon

Image
About The Girl Who Fought NapoleonPaperback: 442 pages
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (September 20, 2016)
In a sweeping story straight out of Russian history, Tsar Alexander I and a courageous girl named Nadezhda Durova join forces against Napoleon.
It’s 1803, and an adolescent Nadya is determined not to follow in her overbearing Ukrainian mother’s footsteps. She’s a horsewoman, not a housewife. When Tsar Paul is assassinated in St. Petersburg and a reluctant and naive Alexander is crowned emperor, Nadya runs away from home and joins the Russian cavalry in the war against Napoleon. Disguised as a boy and riding her spirited stallion, Alcides, Nadya rises in the ranks, even as her father begs the tsar to find his daughter and send her home.
Both Nadya and Alexander defy expectations—she as a heroic fighter and he as a spiritual seeker—while the battles of Austerlitz, Friedland, Borodino, and Smolensk rage on.
In a captivating tale that brings Durova’s memoirs to life, from bl…

Review: When We Meet Again

Image
Title: When We Meet Again
Author: Kristin Harmel
365 pages, published June 7, 2016

Note: I received this book from NetGalleyto facilitate my review. I received no other compensation, and all opinions are my own.

From Goodreads:

Emily Emerson is used to being alone; her dad ran out on the family when she was a just a kid, her mom died when she was seventeen, and her beloved grandmother has just passed away as well. But when she’s laid off from her reporting job, she finds herself completely at sea…until the day she receives a beautiful, haunting painting of a young woman standing at the edge of a sugarcane field under a violet sky. That woman is recognizable as her grandmother—and the painting arrived with no identification other than a handwritten note saying, “He always loved her.”

Emily is hungry for roots and family, so she begins to dig. And as she does, she uncovers a fascinating era in American history. Her trail leads her to the POW internment camps of Florida, where German prisoners…

It's Monday, What Are You Reading?

Image
This is a weekly meme hosted by Kathryn @ The Book Date.
Just Finished:

Currently Reading:
Up Next: 
Not sure yet!! :) Just started my current read so haven't gotten that far yet.
What are you reading this week?

TLC Book Tours: Fractured (GIVEAWAY!!!)

Image
AboutFracturedPaperback: 362 pages Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (October 4, 2016) Welcome, neighbor! Julie Prentice and her family move across the country to the idyllic Mount Adams district of Cincinnati, hoping to evade the stalker who’s been terrorizing them ever since the publication of her bestselling novel, The Murder Game. Since Julie doesn’t know anyone in her new town, when she meets her neighbor John Dunbar, their instant connection brings measured hope for a new beginning. But she never imagines that a simple, benign conversation with him could set her life spinning so far off course. We know where you live… After a series of misunderstandings, Julie and her family become the target of increasingly unsettling harassment. Has Julie’s stalker found her, or are her neighbors out to get her, too? As tension in the neighborhood rises, new friends turn into enemies, and the results are deadly. Purchase Links Amazon|Books-A-Million|Barnes & NobleI've read a lot of books by Ca…

TLC Book Tours: The Ramblers

Image
About The Ramblers• Paperback: 416 pages • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (October 4, 2016) For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City. Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled. Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also lookin…

It's Monday, What Are You Reading?

Image
This is a weekly meme hosted by Kathryn @ The Book Date.

Happy October!! I love Fall :)

Just Finished: Currently Reading:  Up Next: