Review: Swimming for Sunlight

40539135Swimming for Sunlight
By Allie Larkin
352 pages
Release Date: April 23, 2019
Atria Books
 Note: I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley to facilitate my review. I received no other compensation, and all opinions are my own.

About the Book:

When recently divorced Katie Ellis and her rescue dog Bark move back in with Katie’s grandmother in Florida, she becomes swept up in a reunion of her grandmother’s troupe of underwater performers—finding hope and renewal in unexpected places, in this sweet novel perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Claire Cook.

Aspiring costume designer Katie gave up everything in her divorce to gain custody of her fearful, faithful rescue dog, Barkimedes. While she figures out what to do next, she heads back to Florida to live with her grandmother, Nan.

But Katie quickly learns there’s a lot she doesn’t know about Nan—like the fact that in her youth Nan was a mermaid performer in a roadside attraction show, swimming and dancing underwater with a close-knit cast of talented women. Although most of the mermaids have since lost touch, Katie helps Nan search for her old friends on Facebook, sparking hopes for a reunion show. Katie is up for making some fabulous costumes, but first, she has to contend with her crippling fear of water.

As Katie’s college love Luca, a documentary filmmaker, enters the fray, Katie struggles to balance her hopes with her anxiety, and begins to realize just how much Bark’s fears are connected to her own, in this thoughtful, charming novel about hope after loss and friendships that span generations.
 

 
 
Allie Larkin is a new to me author, and after reading this book I immediately picked up Stay, her first novel, from the library. I absolutely loved both books!!  She will be an auto read author in the future as well! Swimming for Sunlight warmed my heart. I related to Katie in so many ways--her love of animals, losing a parent, her issues with anxiety. Nan and her friends reminded me so much of my grandma's group of friends. I absolutely ADORED Barkimedes (Bark), her sweet rescue pup. I loved how Katie and Bark worked through their anxiety together. The mermaid parts of the book were so fun.

This book had so much humor in it, despite dealing with some serious situations. I was laughing out loud in parts! It reminded me a lot of Cathy Lamb's writing. This is definitely a book not to miss--a perfect vacation or weekend getaway read! If you are a dog mom or a dog lover in general--you need to read this book!
 

Comments

  1. I love when I discover a new author that becomes a "must read". I like that the author is able to mix more humorous moments into the serious drama.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment