Posts

Showing posts from June, 2020

Review: The Vanishing Half

Image
The Vanishing Half
By Brit Bennett
352 pages
Published June 2, 2020
Riverhead Books
Source: My BOTM pick

About the Book:

The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it's everything: their families, their communities, their racial identities. Ten years later, one sister lives with her black daughter in the same southern town she once tried to escape. The other secretly passes for white, and her white husband knows nothing of her past. Still, even separated by so many miles and just as many lies, the fates of the twins remain intertwined. What will happen to the next generation, when their own daughters' storylines intersect?

Weaving together multiple strands and generations of this family, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is at…

Review: 28 Summers

Image
28 Summers
By Elin Hilderbrand
432 pages
Published June 16, 2020
Little, Brown and Company
Source: Purchased for myself
ALC copy from Libro.fm

About the Book:

When Mallory Blessing's son, Link, receives deathbed instructions from his mother to call a number on a slip of paper in her desk drawer, he's not sure what to expect. But he certainly does not expect Jake McCloud to answer. It's the late spring of 2020 and Jake's wife, Ursula DeGournsey, is the frontrunner in the upcoming Presidential election.

There must be a mistake, Link thinks. How do Mallory and Jake know each other?

Flash back to the sweet summer of 1993: Mallory has just inherited a beachfront cottage on Nantucket from her aunt, and she agrees to host her brother's bachelor party. Cooper's friend from college, Jake McCloud, attends, and Jake and Mallory form a bond that will persevere -- through marriage, children, and Ursula's stratospheric political rise -- until Mallory learns she's dy…

Review: Where the Lost Wander

Image
Where the Lost Wander 
By Amy Harmon
348 pages
Published April 28, 2020
Lake Union Publishing

Note; I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley to facilitate my review. All opinions are my own and I received no other compensation.

About the Book:

The Overland Trail, 1853: Naomi May never expected to be widowed at twenty. Eager to leave her grief behind, she sets off with her family for a life out West. On the trail, she forms an instant connection with John Lowry, a half-Pawnee man straddling two worlds and a stranger in both.

But life in a wagon train is fraught with hardship, fear, and death. Even as John and Naomi are drawn to each other, the trials of the journey and their disparate pasts work to keep them apart. John’s heritage gains them safe passage through hostile territory only to come between them as they seek to build a life together.
When a horrific tragedy strikes, decimating Naomi’s family and separating her from John, the promises they made are all they have…

Blog Tour: The Black Swan of Paris (excerpt)

Image
The Black Swan of Paris
By Karen Robards
ISBN:9780778309338 Publication Date: June 30, 2020 Publisher: MIRA BUY LINKS: Harlequin Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million Target Walmart Google iBooks Kobo
About the Book:
Paris, 1944.

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse’s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary—including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her l

WWW Wednesday: June 24

Image
WW Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Sam over at Taking On A World of Words.  The three W's are:

What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you'll read next? Recently Finished I enjoyed all three of these, but I especially LOVED 28 Summers!! It's Elin's best book yet, hands down! Full review to come in the near future. Currently Reading I just started this one and am enjoying it so far!
Up Next

TLC Book Tours: A Spark of Romance (Plus a Giveaway!)

Image
About A Spark of RomancePrint Length: 163 Pages
Publisher: Tule Publishing (June 30, 2020)
Is she out of reach?
Fire Chief and former Army sergeant Kayleigh Baker is determined to save Mulberry’s annual Fourth of July fireworks display. She doesn’t want to disappoint the kids and the fireworks are a bittersweet memory of her mom’s last summer. As the town prepares for the summer parade and picnic, Kayleigh works to convince her former high school crush — now the straight-laced police chief — to help her cause.
Does he stack up?
Police Chief Liam MacAvoy doesn’t like the chaos the fireworks cause for his department and can’t hide his relief when they’re cancelled. But now he’s got the woman he’s been in love with for as long as he can remember asking for his help. How can he say no? What he’d really like is to show her that fireworks and town traditions are not the only things worth fighting for.
Can the boy next door and the town hero find the courage to finally seize their chance…

WWW Wednesday: June 17

Image
WW Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Sam over at Taking On A World of Words.  The three W's are:

What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you'll read next?

Recently Finished  Both of these were four star reads for me! I enjoyed them both! 
Currently Reading


I'm reading Where the Lost Wander for a buddy read--I'm really enjoying it so far. I'm also enjoying learning from the book How to Be an Antiracist--listening to it on audio, read by the author!  Continued leaning and work is so important.


Up Next



I'm reading 28 Summers as part of another buddy read and I'm so excited! EH is always on my summer must read list. I'm also so excited about The Vanishing Half, one of my BOTM picks!
What are you reading this week? Happy Reading!

Blog Tour: Red Sky Over Hawaii

Image
Red Sky Over Hawaii: A Novel  Sara Ackerman On Sale Date: June 9, 2020 9780778309673, 0778309673 Trade Paperback $17.99 USD, $22.99 CAD Fiction / Historical / World War II  352 pages MIRA Books BUY LINKS: Barnes & Noble IndieBound Bookshop.org Amazon AppleBooks Books-A-Million Kobo
ABOUT THE BOOK: For fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, RED SKY OVER HAWAII is historical women's fiction 
set in the islands during WWII. It's the story of a woman who has to put her safety and her heart on the 
line when she becomes the unexpected guardian of a misfit group and decides to hide with them in 
a secret home in the forest on Kilauea Volcano.
The attack on Pearl Harbor changes everything for Lana Hitchcock. Arriving home on the Big Island too
 late to reconcile with her estranged father, all she can do is untangle the clues of his legacy, which 

It's Monday! What are you reading?

Image
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at The Book Date.
Last week was crazy, for so many reasons. I didn't post my usual WWW Wednesday post, so I decided to participate in the Monday post instead!

I just started my ARC of Red Sky Over Hawaii yesterday--I'm reviewing it for the blog tour next Monday, June 15! I'm listening to The Guest List (one of Reese's Book club picks for June) and How to Be an Antiracist. Reading, listening, and learning are so important right now. I have a list of books on my TBR on this topic, both fiction and non fiction, that I plan to read. Also coming up soon for me will be the latest from Kri…