Posts

Showing posts from March, 2020

Blogiversary Giveaway!!!

Image
I can't believe it's been 6 years already! I'm so grateful to all of you that read and support my blog. I love writing and sharing my love for books, and it's so much fun to get to share what I'm reading with all of you!  I am also so thankful for all the great  friends I've met through book blogging, bookstagram, and readathons.  To celebrate my Blogivearsy, I'm hosing a giveaway! Last year I did an ARC giveaway of some of my recent ARC's, but in light of everything going on, I want to support a local business through my giveaway, and still participate in social distancing . So, I am giving away a one month subscription to Libro.fm , a fantastic audio book organization that partners with local bookstores. My libro.fm purchases support Powell's Books in Portland, OR. The giveaway ends Saturday! Thank you again for all of your support! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spreading Bookish Love and Support

Image
Hello, friends! How are you holding up?  I've been working from home this last week and it's equal parts weird and great. I can still get a lot done, but it's weird not being physically in the office! As an introvert I didn't think I'd miss the social interaction aspect of work but..here I am, eating my words. I do have pretty awesome coworkers!   The picture above is my #sweetsixteen stack, which was started by Erica ( @sand_between_pages ) on instagram! Since we're all missing March Madness,  the sweet sixteen stack includes sixteen books we love (mine would make some great quarantine reads!) During this time I am making extra effort to support small businesses. I've been getting takeout from local restaurants. Of course,  I've been thinking about ways to help local bookstores, as well. I wanted to share some ideas I've found and supported. 1. Libro.fm: Love audiobooks? Using the code SHOPBOOKSTORESNOW you can directly support your

TLC Book Tours: The Road to Delano (spotlight post)

Image
About The Road to Delano • Hardcover: 320 pages • Publisher: Rare Bird Books (March 10, 2020) Jack Duncan is a high school senior whose dream is to play baseball in college and beyond?as far away from Delano as possible. He longs to escape the political turmoil surrounding the labor struggles of the striking fieldworkers that infests his small ag town. Ever since his father, a grape grower, died under suspicious circumstances ten years earlier, he’s had to be the sole emotional support of his mother, who has kept secrets from him about his father’s involvement in the ongoing labor strife. With their property on the verge of a tax sale, Jack drives an old combine into town to sell it so he and his mother don’t become homeless. On the road, an old friend of his father’s shows up and hands him the police report indicating Jack’s father was murdered. Jack is compelled to dig deep to discover the entire truth, which throws him into the heart of the corruption endemic in the Central Val

WWW Wednesday: March 25

Image
  WWW Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Sam over at Taking On A World of Words .    The three W's are:   What did you recently finish reading? What are you currently reading? What do you think you'll read next?   Recently Finished           With the quarantine I've been getting a lot of reading done, as I'm sure we all have! I really enjoyed Keep Me Afloat and Sharks in the Time of Saviors (both 4 stars). The Road to Delano wasn't for me, but it could be a timing issue here--with all that's going on I'm just wanting lighter reads.  Currently Reading      I'm reading the latest from Christina Lauren on my kindle, and listening to The Jetsetters on audio. Both are what I need right now--light and fluffy. While The Jetsetters isn't one of Reese's best book club picks...it is perfect for the mental break I need right now. Up Next     We'll see what I

Review: Oona Out of Order

Image
Oona Out of Order By Margarita Montimore 352 pages Published February 25, 2020 Flatiron Books Buy on Amazon  * As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. The cost to you is exactly the same. *I receive this book from the publisher via the ALC program on Libro.fm to facilitate my review. All opinions are my own and I received no other compensation. About the Book: It’s New Year’s Eve 1982, and Oona Lockhart has her whole life before her. At the stroke of midnight she will turn nineteen, and the year ahead promises to be one of consequence. Should she go to London to study economics, or remain at home in Brooklyn to pursue her passion for music and be with her boyfriend? As the countdown to the New Year begins, Oona faints and awakens thirty-two years in the future in her fifty-one-year-old body. Greeted by a friendly stranger in a beautiful house she’s told is her own, Oona learns that with each passing year she will leap to another age at random. And

Blog Tour: The Sea Glass Cottage (excerpt)

Image
THE SEA GLASS COTTAGE Author: RaeAnne Thayne  ISBN: 9781335045164 Publication Date: 3/17/2020 Publisher: HQN Books Buy Links:  Harlequin  Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble  Books-A-Million Target   Walmart Google iBooks Kobo   About the Book: From the  New York Times  bestselling author RaeAnne Thayne comes a brand-new novel for fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs. RaeAnne Thayne tells the story of an emotional homecoming that brings hope and healing to three generations of women. The life Olivia Harper always dreamed of isn’t so dreamy these days. The 16-hour work days are unfulfilling and so are things with her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when she hears that her estranged mother, Juliet, has been seriously injured in a car accident, Liv has no choice but to pack up her life and head home to beautiful Cape Sanctuary on the Northern California coast. It’s just for a few months—that’s what Liv keeps telling herself. But the closer she

TLC Book Tours: Children of the Stars

Image
About  Children of the Stars Hardcover: 368 Pages Publisher: Thomas Nelson (February 25, 2020) From international bestselling author Mario Escobar comes a story of escape, sacrifice, and hope amid the perils of the second World War. August 1942. Jacob and Moses Stein, two young Jewish brothers, are staying with their aunt in Paris amid the Nazi occupation. The boys’ parents, well-known German playwrights, have left the brothers in their aunt’s care until they can find safe harbor for their family. But before the Steins can reunite, a great and terrifying roundup occurs. The French gendarmes, under Nazi order, arrest the boys and take them to the VĂ©lodrome d’Hiver—a massive, bleak structure in Paris where thousands of France’s Jews are being forcibly detained. Jacob and Moses know they must flee in order to survive, but they only have a set of letters sent from the south of France to guide them to their parents. Danger lurks around every corner as the boys, with