Blog Tour: Red Sky Over Hawaii

Sara Ackerman
On Sale Date: June 9, 2020
9780778309673, 0778309673
Trade Paperback
$17.99 USD, $22.99 CAD
Fiction / Historical / World War II 
352 pages
MIRA Books
BUY LINKS:

ABOUT THE BOOK:
For fans of Chanel Cleeton and Beatriz Williams, RED SKY OVER HAWAII is historical women's fiction 
set in the islands during WWII. It's the story of a woman who has to put her safety and her heart on the 
line when she becomes the unexpected guardian of a misfit group and decides to hide with them in 
a secret home in the forest on Kilauea Volcano.

The attack on Pearl Harbor changes everything for Lana Hitchcock. Arriving home on the Big Island too
 late to reconcile with her estranged father, all she can do is untangle the clues of his legacy, which 
lead to a secret property in the forest on Kilauea Volcano. America has been drawn into WWII, and 
amid rumors of impending invasion, the army places the islands under martial law. When they start taking 
away neighbors as possible sympathizers, Lana finds herself suddenly guardian to two girls, as well 
as accomplice to an old family friend who is Japanese, along with his son. In a heartbeat, she makes 
the decision to go into hiding with them all.

The hideaway house is not what Lana expected, revealing its secrets slowly, and things become even more 
complicated by the interest of Major Grant Bailey, a soldier from the nearby internment camp. Lana is drawn 
to him, too, but needs to protect her little group. With a little help from the magic on the volcano, Lana finds 
she can open her bruised heart to the children--and maybe to Grant.

A lush and evocative novel about doing what is right against the odds, following your heart, and what makes
 a family.

 

If you've been following my blog for any amount of time, you know that I absolutely love all things Hawaii. Moloka'i by Alan Brennert is the #1 book I recommend to everyone who asks.  So, I was super excited to read Red Sky Over Hawaii! This was a five star read for me--I absolutely LOVED it.  Sara Ackerman was born and raised in Hawaii and it shows in her descriptive writing. Reading her book made me feel like I was really there--which was perfect, since my trip this year was canceled due to the pandemic. The book was set on the Big Island (my favorite!) mostly in the city of Volcano, in the days following the attack on Pearl Harbor. In addition to the vivid description of Hawaii, I also enjoyed learning about that time in history from the perspective of the outer islands--in the past I'd mainly through about Oahu during this time. I also liked that she added in real life people--like Thomas Jaggar, the volcanologist who founded the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory.
I loved all the characters, but I loved Coco the most. Coco was the youngest of the two girls Lana took in. What I loved  about Coco was her love and compassion for animals, and her ability to understand them. I also related a lot to Lana. The story makes you think, feel, and reflect on both the historical events and relate it to things going on in the world today. This is an absolute beautiful book, and I highly recommend adding it to your summer reading list. Make sure to read the Author's Note at the end as well.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Sara Ackerman is the USA Today bestselling author of The Lieutenant's Nurse and Island of Sweet Pies and
 Soldiers. Born and raised in Hawaii, she studied journalism and earned graduate degrees in psychology and
 Chinese medicine. She blames Hawaii for her addiction to writing, and sees no end to its untapped stories. 
When she's not writing or teaching, you'll find her in the mountains or in the ocean. She currently lives on 
the Big Island with her boyfriend and a houseful of bossy animals.
Facebook: @ackermanbooks
Twitter: @AckermanBooks
Instagram: @saraackermanbooks


Comments

  1. This sounds excellent! My grandmother has a trip to Hawaii on her bucket list, so we hope to travel there in the next year or so.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment